Two Score and Counting

Down the colonnade, she strolled humming my song. Every evening I watch as she sings her way into my soul, she looks so carefree. An oasis of calm in the hurried crowd milling tonight. She stops barely a feet away, I can hear my breathing. The evening breeze twines her perfume past me.
Is this the night I speak to my beloved?
I’ve thought of so many ways, each sillier than the last. Watching and waiting for weeks, my stay was at a end. I will be on the next boat home on the morrow, it was now or never.
*******
It feels just like yesterday, as we walk hand in hand down the colonnade, her hearty laughter still makes my heart skip; 42 years and i wish to do it all over again. We do this every decade or so.Me: I cant wait for another decade Lucy.

Lucy: Huh? Jeff what are you talking about. She bends towards a purple window lily.
These are so beautiful Jeff.
Me: Just like you always are dear.She always laughs, i want to hear this forever.


PHOTO PROMPT- © Sandra Crook

 

Leave a Reply

